Skip Menu

Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine and Research Institute

Return to Skip Menu

Main Navigation

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

School of Medicine Leadership

Board of Directors


Board of Directors 2014-2015 The Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine Board of Directors, 2014–15, pictured with the dean: front row (left to right): Deborah Petrine, Sidney C. Smith, Jr., M.D.; Ben J. Davenport, Jr.; Dean Cynda A. Johnson, M.D.; Timothy D. Sands; and back row (left to right): Warner Dalhouse; Bertram W. Spetzler, M.D. (faculty representative); James R. Smith; Nicholas C. Conte; and Nancy Howell Agee. Not pictured: Edward G. Murphy, M.D.; Carmen Hooker Odom, and Lindsey DeGeorge, Class of 2015 (student representative)(Photo taken September 2014).



Ben J. Davenport, Jr, Chairman, Davenport Energy and First Piedmont Corporation


Nancy Howell Agee, President and CEO, Carilion Clinic

Nicholas C. Conte, President, Woods Rogers, PLC

Warner Dalhouse, Founding Chairman, HomeTown Bank

Edward G. Murphy, M.D., Advisor/Operating Partner, TowerBrook Capital Partners

Carmen Hooker Odom, President, Milbank Memorial Fund

Deborah L. Petrine, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth Care of Roanoke

Timothy D. Sands,  Ph.D., President, Virginia Tech

James R. Smith, Founder and CEO, Smith/Packett Med-Com, LLC

Sidney C. Smith, Jr., M.D., Professor of Medicine and Director of the Center for Cardiovascular Science and Medicine, University of North Carolina School of Medicine

Bertram W. Spetzler, M.D., Medical Consultant, Department of Social Security, Faculty Representative to the Board

Lindsey DeGeorge, Student Representative to the Board


Office of the Dean


2013-vtcsom-leadership Front Row: David Musick, Ph.D.; Daniel P Harrington, M.D.; Cynda Ann Johnson M.D., M.B.A.; Michael J. Friedlander, Ph.D.; and David B. Trinkle, M.D. Back Row: Richard C. Vari, Ph.D.; Aubrey L. Knight, M.D.; Tracey W. Criss, M.D.; Stephen M. Workman, Ph.D.; Tarin Schmidt-Dalton, M.D.; and Bruce Johnson, M.D.

Cynda Ann Johnson, M.D., M.B.A., President and Founding Dean

Tracey W. Criss, M.D., Assistant Dean for Clinical Science Years 3 and 4

Michael J. Friedlander, Ph.D., Senior Dean for Research

Daniel P. Harrington, M.D., Senior Dean for Academic Affairs

Bruce E. Johnson, M.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Aubrey L. Knight, M.D., Associate Dean for Student Affairs

David Musick, Ph.D., Assistant Dean for Faculty Development

Tarin Schmidt-Dalton, M.D., Assistant Dean for Clinical Science Years 1 and 2

David B. Trinkle, M.D., Associate Dean for Community and Culture

Richard C. Vari, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Medical Education

Stephen M. Workman, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Admissions and Administration


The Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine’s 2013–14 Plan of Organization details the reporting relationships between the Board of Directors, the School’s administrative leadership, and the department chairs.

A Message from the Dean

    Cynda Ann Johnson, M.D., M.B.A.

Cynda Johnson welcomes you to the VTC School of Medicine and talks about how you start a medical school.